Top Menu

Home Forums Discussion by State Maine Maine Concealed Carry Permits

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Jacob Paulsen 2 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #81219

    Jacob Paulsen
    Participant

    May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall Issue

    Issuing Authority: Maine State Police

    Required Training: None

    How to Apply: What you need is: Application for Permit to Carry Concealed Handgun.  Two Authority to Release Information Forms (pages 9 & 10)  Fee of $35.00 for new applicants (If you are renewing and your permit expired over six months ago, you are considered a new applicant at the $35.00 fee.), or a fee of $20.00 for a renewal, or a fee of $2.00 for a duplicate or a change of address made payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine.  Copies of all concealed firearm permits issued by other states or municipalities within this state.  A copy of your DD-214 form if you were a member of the Armed Forces of the United States.  A copy of your birth certificate or INS document.  Must submit one color passport photos (2”X 2”) with your application Proof of knowledge of handgun safety. Please see page 6 paragraph (5) of “Laws Relating to Permits to Carry Concealed Handguns”

    Non-Residents: Yes they issue non-resident permits

    Renewal: Valid for 4 years before renewal

    Processing Time: Processing Time within 30 Days or 60 Days for Residents less than 5 Years and Non-Residents

    Cost: $35 Initial / $20 Renewal

    Change of Address: Change of legal residence from one municipality to another during the term of the permit renders the permit invalid starting 30 days after the change is made. An invalid permit is not considered revoked. If the permit holder changes the permit holder’s legal residence from one municipality to another during the term of the permit, the permit remains valid if the permit holder provides the permit holder’s new address to the issuing authority of the permit holder’s new residence within 30 days of making that change. The issuing authority of the new residence shall immediately reissue the permit with the corrected address for a fee of not more than $2.  If the issuing authority of the permit holder’s new residence so requests, the previous issuing authority shall provide a photocopy of the permit holder’s application, documents made a part of the application and any information of record collected by that previous issuing authority.

    Required to Notify Law Enforcement:  Permit to be in permit holder’s immediate possession. Every permit holder, including a non-resident who holds a permit issued by the non-resident’s state of residence, shall have the holder’s permit in the holder’s immediate possession at all times when carrying a concealed handgun and shall display the same on demand of any law enforcement officer. A person charged with violating this subsection may not be adjudicated as having committed a civil violation if that person produces in court the concealed handgun permit that was valid at the time of the issuance of a summons to court or, if the holder exhibits the permit to a law enforcement officer designated by the summonsing officer not later than 24 hours before the time set for the court appearance, a complaint may not be issued.

    Places Off Limits When Carrying:

    Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.

    State Restrictions include:

    A person is guilty of criminal possession of a firearm if the person possesses any firearm on the premises of a licensed establishment for on-premises consumption of liquor and is posted to prohibit or restrict the possession of firearms in a manner reasonably likely to come to the attention of patrons… (Title 17A Chapter 43 §1057)  A person may not possess a firearm on public school property or the property of an approved private school or discharge a firearm within 500 feet of public school property or the property of an approved private school.. (Title 20A Chapter 223 §6552)  It is a Class D crime for any person, including, but not limited to, security guards and persons involved in a labor dispute or strike, to be armed with a dangerous weapon, as defined in Title 17-A, section 2, subsection 9, at the site of a labor dispute or strike. A person holding a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun is not exempt from this subsection. (Title 32 Chapter 93 §9412)  All persons are prohibited from entering any court facility, including any courtroom, or any other area or building within the control or supervision of the Maine Judicial Branch, if armed with a firearm, other dangerous weapon or while in possession of a disabling chemical. (Administrative Order JB-05-9)  Any place where federal law prohibits the carrying of firearms

    Private Property Prohibitions: 1. A person is guilty of criminal trespass if, knowing that that person is not licensed or privileged to do so, that person: C. Enters any place from which that person may lawfully be excluded and that is posted in accordance with subsection 4 or in a manner reasonably likely to come to the attention of intruders or that is fenced or otherwise enclosed in a manner designed to exclude intruders. Violation of this paragraph is a Class E crime; [2001, c. 383, §156 (AFF); 2001, c. 383, §56 (AMD).] 4. For the purposes of subsection 1, paragraph C, property is posted if it is marked with signs or paint in compliance with this subsection. Proof that any posted sign or paint marking is actually seen by an intruder gives rise to a permissible inference under the Maine Rules of Evidence, Rule 303 that such posted sign or paint marking is posted in a manner reasonably likely to come to the attention of intruders. 1. A person is guilty of criminal possession of a firearm if: A. Not being a law enforcement officer or a private investigator licensed under Title 32, chapter 89 and actually performing as a private investigator, the person possesses any firearm on the premises of a licensed establishment posted to prohibit or restrict the possession of firearms in a manner reasonably likely to come to the attention of patrons, in violation of the posted prohibition or restriction B. A person convicted of a violation of this section is not eligible to obtain or apply for a permit to carry a concealed handgun for 5 years from the date of that conviction.

    State Website: Maine

    Current Reciprocity Map:

    Maine Basic CCW Map

    • This topic was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by  Jacob Paulsen.
    • This topic was modified 2 months ago by  Samuel.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.