- September 12, 2016 at 8:05 am #81202
May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall Issue
Issuing Authority: Missouri Sheriff’s Department
Required Training: A minimum of an 8 hour training class is required to apply for your permit.
How to Apply: You can fill out an application and submit it to your local Sheriff’s Office.
Non-Residents: Will issue to members of the Armed Forces that are stationed in Missouri as well as their spouses.
Renewal: A permit is valid for 5 years and then needs to be renewed.
Processing Time: Up to 45 days.
Cost: A new permit can cost up to $100 depending on the Sherrif, a renewal of a permit can cost up to $50 depending on the Sherrif.
Change of Address: Contact your local Sheriff’s office if you need to change your address, a $10 fee may be applied depedning on the area and the Sheriff you are working with.
Required to Notify Law Enforcement: No
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State Restrictions include:
Any police, sheriff, or Highway Patrol office or station without consent; within 25 feet of any polling place on Election Day; adult or juvenile jail or institution; courthouse or facilities; any meeting of a government body (except by a member with a concealed carry permit); bar without consent; airport; where prohibited by federal law; schools; child care facility (without consent of manager); riverboat gambling facility; amusement parks; any church or place of worship; without permission of minister or person representing religious organization; any sports arena or stadium (with seating for more than 5,000); hospitals; and private or public property where posted.
Private Property Prohibitions:. Carrying of a concealed firearm in a location specified in subdivisions (1) to (17) of subsection 1 of this section by any individual who holds a concealed carry permit issued pursuant to sections 571.101 to 571.121 shall not be a criminal act but may subject the person to denial to the premises or removal from the premises. If such person refuses to leave the premises and a peace officer is summoned, such person may be issued a citation for an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars for the first offense. If a second citation for a similar violation occurs within a six-month period, such person shall be fined an amount not to exceed two hundred dollars and his or her permit to carry concealed firearms shall be suspended for a period of one year. If a third citation for a similar violation is issued within one year of the first citation, such person shall be fined an amount not to exceed five hundred dollars and shall have his or her concealed carry permit revoked and such person shall not be eligible for a concealed carry permit for a period of three years.
State Website: Missouri
Current Reciprocity Map:
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.