Top Menu

Home Forums Discussion by State New Jersey New Jersey Concealed Carry Permits

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Jacob Paulsen 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #82129

    Jacob Paulsen
    Participant

    May Issue VS Shall Issue: May Issue for Both Residents and Non-Residents

    Issuing Authority: Local Police Chief or the Superintendent of State Police

    Required Training: There is no required training but one must Prove it is necessary for them to carry a handgun for self defense.

    How to Apply: For Residents, you must apply to the local Police Chief in the area in which you reside. For Non-Residents and Residents who do not have a Police Chief in their area, you must apply to the Superintendent of State Police.

    Non-Residents: May Issue but only for those in security work and others who can express an urgency to carry a handgun for self defense.

    Renewal: You must renew your permit every 2 years.

    Processing Time: Up to 30 days.

    Cost: The cost for both New and Renewal permits is $20.

    Change of Address: You are required to inform in writing the issuing authority of your permit as well as the Police Chief in the area you will be moving within 30 days of your permanent address change.

    Required to Notify Law Enforcement: No

    Places Off Limits When Carrying:

    Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.

    State Restrictions include:

    (a) No person, including the security department members, shall possess or be permitted to possess any pistol or firearm within a casino or casino simulcasting facility without the express written approval of the Division provided that employees and agents of the Division may possess such pistols or firearms at the discretion of the director of the Division. At the request of the casino licensee’s security department and upon its notification to the State Police, a law enforcement officer may, in an emergency situation, enter a casino or casino simulcasting facility with a firearm. (b) To obtain approval for the possession of a pistol or firearm within a casino or casino simulcasting facility, a person shall be required to demonstrate that: 1. He or she has received an adequate course of training in the possession and use of such pistol or firearm; 2. He or she is the holder of a valid license for the possession of such pistol or firearm; and 3. There is a compelling need for the possession of such pistol or firearm within the casino or casino simulcasting facility. (c) Each casino licensee shall cause to be posted in a conspicuous location at each entrance to the casino and casino simulcasting facility a sign that may be easily read stating: “By law, no person shall possess any pistol or firearm within the casino or casino simulcasting facility without the express written permission of the Division of Gaming Enforcement.”

    Private Property Prohibitions: We are unable to determine if “No Gun” signs have the force of law in New Jersey. Until we get more information we believe you should treat every “No Gun” sign on any private business as having the force of law.

    State Website: New Jersey

    Current Reciprocity Map:

    New Jersey CCW Map

     

    • This topic was modified 2 months, 2 weeks ago by  Jacob Paulsen.
    • This topic was modified 2 months ago by  Samuel.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.