Top Menu

Home Forums Discussion by State New Mexico New Mexico Concealed Carry Permits

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Jacob Paulsen 2 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #82137

    Jacob Paulsen
    Participant

    May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall Issue to Residents only

    Issuing Authority: New Mexico Department of Public Safety

    Required Training: You need a certificate from a New Mexico Department of Public safety firearms instructor.

    How to Apply: You may send an application by mail or submit it in person to the New Mexico Department of Public Safety.

    Non-Residents: New Mexico does not issue permits to Non-Residents.

    Renewal: You must renew your license every 4 years.

    Processing Time: Up to 30 days.

    Cost: For a new license it costs $100, for a renewal or transfer of your license will cost $75.

    Change of Address: You are required to notify the New Mexico Department of Public Safety within 30 days of a permanent address change.

    Required to Notify Law Enforcement: No

    Places Off Limits When Carrying:

    Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.

    State Restrictions include:

    Nothing in the Concealed Handgun Carry Act allows a licensee in possession of a valid concealed handgun license to carry a concealed handgun into or on premises where to do so would be in violation of state or federal law.It is unlawful to carry a concealed handgun on school or preschool premises even with a concealed carry license.In addition to other limitations stated in the act, a licensee may not carry a concealed handgun on or about his person on private property that has signs posted prohibiting the carrying of concealed weapons or when verbally told so by a person lawfully in possession of the property. A concealed handgun license is not valid on tribal land, unless authorized by the governing body of an Indian nation, tribe or pueblo. A concealed handgun license is not valid in a courthouse or court facility, unless authorized by the presiding judicial officer for that courthouse or court facility. It is unlawful to carry a deadly weapon on school premises, grounds, school bus, or any public building or grounds where school-related and sanctioned activities are performed. Exceptions include a person older than 19 in a private means of conveyance for lawful protection of person or property, safety or military instruction, or any school approved program involving the carrying of a deadly weapon. No person shall carry a loaded or unloaded firearm in an establishment licensed by the regulation and licensing department for the dispensing of alcoholic beverage except 1) a law enforcement officer in the lawful discharge of his duties; 2) the owner, lessee, tenant, or operator of the licensed premise or his agents, including privately employed security personnel during the performance of their duties; 3) by a person in that area of the licensed premise usually and primarily rented on a daily or short term basis for sleeping or residential occupancy, including motel or hotel rooms; 4) by a person on that area of the licensed premise used primarily for vehicular traffic or parking; 5) for the purpose of temporary display, provided that the firearm is: (a) made completely inoperative before it is carried onto the licensed premises and remains inoperative while it is on the licensed premises; and (b) under the control of the licensee or an agent of the licensee while the firearm is on the licensed premises. No person shall carry a firearm while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

    F. Carrying prohibited on private property. In addition to other limitations stated in the act, a
    licensee may not carry a concealed handgun on or about his person on private property that has signs posted
    prohibiting the carrying of concealed weapons or when verbally told so by a person lawfully in possession of
    the property.
    10.8.2.27 Prohibiting the Carrying Of Concealed Handguns on Private Property:
    Pursuant to Subsection C of NMSA 1978 Section 29-19-12, any person lawfully in possession of private
    property may prohibit the carrying of concealed handguns on such private property by posting notice in
    accordance with NMSA 1978 Section 30-14-6 or by verbally notifying persons entering upon the property

    State Website: New Mexico

    Current Reciprocity Map:

    New Mexico CCW Map

     

    • This topic was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by  Jacob Paulsen.
    • This topic was modified 2 months, 1 week ago by  Jacob Paulsen. Reason: Updated private property section
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.