- September 15, 2016 at 8:45 am #82139
May Issue VS Shall Issue: May Issue to Residents and Non-Residents
Issuing Authority: Licensing Officer of the City or County in which you reside.
Required Training: Some Cities and Counties may require you to obtain a certificate from a state certified training course.
How to Apply: You can apply to the Licensing Officer in the City or County in which you reside.
Non-Residents: Non-Residents may apply but on a May issue basis.
Renewal: You have to renew your License every 3 or 5 years depending on the City or County you were issued your license in.
Processing Time: Up to 9 months
Cost: The fee is set by each County or City Licensing officer but there is a limit of $10 for the license and a $3-$5 fee for fingerprints.
Change of Address: You are required to notify the Licensing Officer within 30 days of a permanent address change.
Required to Notify Law Enforcement: No
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State Restrictions include:
Firearms (other than carried by peace officers and federal officers) are NOT permitted in courthouses under the rules of the NYS Office of Court Administration, which have the force and effect of law. Federal law bans firearms in federal courthouses and US attorney offices, except for law enforcement personnel on official business. Certain cities and all counties may, under home rule options, ban firearms from their governmental buildings. §265.01a Criminal possession of a weapon on school grounds. A person is guilty of criminal possession of a weapon on school grounds when he or she knowingly has in his or her possession a rifle, shotgun, or firearm in or upon a building or grounds, used for educational purposes, of any school, college, or university, except the forestry lands, wherever located, owned and maintained by the State University of New York college of environmental science and forestry, or upon a school bus as defined in section one hundred forty-two of the vehicle and traffic law, without the written authorization of such educational institution. Criminal possession of a weapon on school grounds is a class E felony. §400.00 All Permits shall be effective throughout the state, except that the same shall not be valid within the city of New York unless a special permit granting validity is issued by the police commissioner of that city. § 265.03 Criminal Possession of a Weapon in The Second Degree. A person is guilty of criminal possession of a weapon in the second degree when: (1) with intent to use the same unlawfully against another, such person: (a) possesses a machine-gun; or http://www.handgunlaw.us 5 (b) possesses a loaded firearm; or (c) possesses a disguised gun; or (2) such person possesses five or more firearms; or (3) such person possesses any loaded firearm. Such possession shall not, except as provided in subdivision one or seven of section 265.02 of this article, constitute a violation of this subdivision if such possession takes place in such person’s home or place of business. Criminal possession of a weapon in the second degree is a class C felony. At any facility of the New York Department of Mental Hygiene, or any residential facility that has an operating certificate issued by the Department (N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 14, § 45.1); or At any facility operated or licensed by the Office of Mental Health of the Department of Mental Hygiene (N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 14, § 542.5(a)).
Private Property Prohibitions: We are unable to determine if “No Gun” signs have the force of law in New York. Until we get more information we believe you should treat every “No Gun” sign on any private business as having the force of law.
Current Reciprocity Map:
Please note that New York State permits are NOT valid in NYC. Only NYC issued permits are valid in NYC. The below map represents the national reciprocity of the New York State Permit.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.