- September 21, 2016 at 9:58 am #83004
May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall Issue to Residents Only
Issuing Authority: Your Local Sheriff’s Office and the Ohio Peace Officers Training Commision
Required Training: You are required to have a Certificate of Competency with a Firearm.
How to Apply: You must acquire an application from the Ohio Peace Officers Training Commision and turn that application into your Local Sheriff’s Office.
Non-Residents: Ohio does not issue Non-Resident permits.
Renewal: You must renew your permit every 5 years.
Processing Time: Up to 45 days.
Cost: New and Renewal costs will be $55, you may also have to pay a $24 fee if an FBI record check is required. The cost for a duplicate permit is $15.
Change of Address: You must notify your local Sheriff within 30 days of a permanent address change.
Required to Notify Law Enforcement: Yes
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State Restrictions include:
Police stations; Sheriff’s offices; Highway Patrol posts;Premises controlled by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation; Correctional institutions or other detention facilities; Airport terminals or commercial airplanes; Institutions for the care of mentally ill persons; Courthouses or buildings in which a courtroom is located; Universities, unless locked in a motor vehicle or in the process of being locked in a motor vehicle; Places of worship, unless the place of worship permits otherwise; Child day-care centers; Licensed D-Liquor Permit premises in which any person is consuming
Liquor; Concealed firearms are banned in premises for which a D permit has been issued or in an open air arena for which a permit of that nature has been issued. There are some exceptions to this prohibition. The prohibition does not apply to principal holder of D permit as long as principal holder is not consuming liquor. The prohibition does not apply to an agent or employee of the principal holder who is also a peace officer who is also off duty. Possession of a concealed firearm is allowed in a retail store with a D-6 or D-8 permit as long as concealed carry license holder is not consuming liquor. Class D permits are generally issued to an establishment that sells alcohol for consumption on the premises. In any event, be certain of the type of permit and whether liquor is being consumed before you enter with a concealed handgun. Government facilities that are not used primarilys a shelter, restroom, parking facility for motor vehicles, or rest facility and is not a courthouse or a building or structure in which a courtroom is located; School safety zones. A “school safety zone” includes a school, school building, school premises, school activity, and school bus. For purposes of this statute, a school includes everything up to the property boundary. The law generally forbids the carrying of a handgun in a school safety zone unless all of the following apply: You do not enter a school building, premises or activity; and You have a concealed carry license or temporary emergency license; and You are not otherwise in one of the forbidden places listed above and detailed in R.C. 2923.126 (B); or You are a driver or passenger in a motor vehicle immediately in the process of picking up or dropping off a child, and you are not otherwise in violation of the laws governing transportation of firearms in motor vehicles.
Private Property Prohibitions: (a) Except as provided in division (C)(3)(b) of this section, the owner or person in control of private land or premises, and a private person or entity leasing land or premises owned by the state, the United States, or a political subdivision of the state or the United States, may post a sign in a conspicuous location on that land or on those premises prohibiting persons from carrying firearms or concealed firearms on or onto that land or those premises. Except as otherwise provided in this division, a person who knowingly violates a posted prohibition of that nature is guilty of criminal trespass in violation of division (A)(4) of section 2911.21 of the Revised Code and is guilty of a misdemeanor of the fourth degree. If a person knowingly violates a posted prohibition of that nature and the posted land or premises primarily was a parking lot or other parking facility, the person is not guilty of criminal trespass under section 2911.21 of the Revised Code or under any other criminal law of this state or criminal law, ordinance, or resolution of a political subdivision of this state, and instead is subject only to a civil cause of action for trespass based on the violation.
State Website: Ohio
Current Reciprocity Map:
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.