Top Menu

Home Forums Discussion by State Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Concealed Carry Permits

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Jacob Paulsen 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #83010

    Jacob Paulsen
    Participant

    May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents

    Issuing Authority: The Sheriff in the County you reside in.

    Required Training: There is no required training needed to apply for your Pennsylvania permit.

    How to Apply: You must fill out an application and turn it into the Sheriff who is in charge of the County you live in.

    Non-Residents: Non-Residents may apply to any County Sheriff.

    Renewal: You must renew your permit every 5 years.

    Processing Time: Up to 45 days.

    Cost: The cost is $19 but it may differ depending on the County and Sheriff you turn your application into. Contact your County Sheriff for the exact costs.

    Change of Address: It is recommended that you inform the Sheriff that issued you your permit once you have made a permanent address change.

    Required to Notify Law Enforcement: No

    Places Off Limits When Carrying:

    Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.

    State Restrictions include:

    Court Houses (Areas Off Limits Must Be Posted)  Elementary and Secondary Education Schools Title 18 Section 913 Possession of firearm or other dangerous weapon in court facility. (a) Offense defined.–A person commits an offense if he: (1) knowingly possesses a firearm or other dangerous weapon in a court facility or knowingly causes a firearm or other dangerous weapon to be present in a court facility; or (2) knowingly possesses a firearm or other dangerous weapon in a court facility with the intent that the firearm or other dangerous weapon be used in the commission of a crime or knowingly causes a firearm or other dangerous weapon to be present in a court facility with the intent that the firearm or other dangerous weapon be used in the commission of a crime. (b) Grading.– (1) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (3), an offense under subsection (a)(1) is a misdemeanor of the third degree. (2) An offense under subsection (a)(2) is a misdemeanor of the first degree. (d) Posting of notice.–Notice of the provisions of subsections (a) and (e) shall be posted conspicuously at each public entrance to each courthouse or other building containing a court facility and each court facility, and no person shall be convicted of an offense under subsection (a)(1) with respect to a court facility if the notice was not so posted at each public entrance to the courthouse or other building containing a court facility and at the court facility unless the person had actual notice of the provisions of subsection (a). (e) Facilities for checking firearms or other dangerous weapons.–Each county shall make available at or within the building containing a court facility by July 1, 2002, lockers or similar facilities at no charge or cost for the temporary checking of firearms by persons carrying firearms under section 6106(b) or 6109 or for the checking of other dangerous weapons that are not otherwise prohibited by law. Any individual checking a firearm, dangerous weapon or an item deemed to be a dangerous weapon at a court facility must be issued a receipt. Notice of the location of the facility shall be posted as required under subsection (d). (f) Definitions.–As used in this section, the following words and phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection: “Court facility.” The courtroom of a court of record; a courtroom of a community court; the courtroom of a magisterial district judge; a courtroom of the Philadelphia Municipal Court; a courtroom of the Pittsburgh http://www.handgunlaw.us 4 Magistrates Court; a courtroom of the Traffic Court of Philadelphia; judge’s chambers; witness rooms; jury deliberation rooms; attorney conference rooms; prisoner holding cells; offices of court clerks, the district attorney, the sheriff and probation and parole officers; and any adjoining corridors. Title 18 § 912 Possession of Weapon on School Property. (a) Definition.–Notwithstanding the definition of “weapon” in section 907 (relating to possessing instruments of crime), “weapon” for purposes of this section shall include but not be limited to any knife, cutting instrument, cutting tool, nun-chuck stick, firearm, shotgun, rifle and any other tool, instrument or implement capable of inflicting serious bodily injury. (b) Offense Defined.–A person commits a misdemeanor of the first degree if he possesses a weapon in the buildings of, on the grounds of, or in any conveyance providing transportation to or from any elementary or secondary publicly-funded educational institution, any elementary or secondary private school licensed by the Department of Education or any elementary or secondary parochial school.1980 Amendment. Act 167 added section 912.

    Private Property Prohibitions: “No Firearm” signs in Pennsylvania have no force of law unless they are posted on property that is specifically mentioned in State Law as being off limits to those with a Permit/License to Carry. If you are in a place not specifically mentioned in the law that is posted and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave then you are breaking the law and can be charged. Even if the property is not posted and you are asked to leave you must leave. Always be aware of the possibility that responding Police Officers who may have been called without your knowledge and may not know the laws on trespass etc. could arrest you even if you are within the law.

    State Website: Pennsylvania

    Current Reciprocity Map:

    Pennsylvania CCW Map

     

    • This topic was modified 2 months, 2 weeks ago by  Jacob Paulsen.
    • This topic was modified 2 months, 1 week ago by  Samuel.
    • This topic was modified 2 months, 1 week ago by  Samuel.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.