Top Menu

Home Forums Concealed Carry Revolver vs. Pistol

This topic contains 10 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Jacob Paulsen 3 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

I recently started shooting at the range and have confined my training to the gun I own, a S&W .38 Spl.. It’s an inherited gun.

However, I am considering going to a pistol (S&W or Glock) as I am having trouble acquiring the sites. I’ve just turned 50 and wear progressive (tri-focal) lenses. Even painting the iron sites white hasn’t helped. The pistols have all sorts of after-market sites (I really like the orange dot/night site on a Glock.) So, do I continue to train with the .38 for the muscle memory (I don’t do badly out to 25 ft. although I pull a little low, especially on head shots)? Or bite the bullet and go for a pistol. If that is the consensus, does anyone have a preference for S&W or a Glock? .40 or 9mm?

Jacob Paulsen

Thomas, I’ll chime in with my opinion…

I would recommend the 9mm over the .40. I personally prefer Glock but I love my M&P Shield as well. I like the simplicity and reliability of the Glock above all else.

I would also recommend training at a shorter distance. 25ft is a very long distance for self-defense training.

Thanks Jacob,

I start at 20 ft. and then go to 15 ft. and finish at 10 ft. The 25 foot shot is based on the length of my upstairs hallway to the back set of stairs. (Victorian house.) Should I come in even closer than 10 ft.?

Thanks for the advice. My range allows me a free gun rental during my birthday month (this month) and while I was planning on trying an AR-15, I think I’ll use it to sort out the pistol debate.

Jacob Paulsen

Thomas, the fact that you picked that distance based on an actual potential situation in your own home is awesome. It may be worth training at 15-20 feet on occasion but I honestly would do something more like:
    80% at 3-7 feet
    16% at 7-15 feet
    4% at 15-21 feet