- September 21, 2016 at 10:13 am #83016
May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall issue to Residents and Non-Residents with exceptions.
Issuing Authority: South Carolina Law Enforcement Division
Required Training: You need a certificate from a state certified training program.
How to Apply: Contact the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division to apply.
Non-Residents: Non-Residents may apply but have to own property in the state.
Renewal: You must renew your permit every 5 years.
Processing Time: Up to 90 days
Cost: The cost of both a New and Renewed permit is $50.
Change of Address: You must notify the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division in writing within 10 days of a permanent address change.
Required to Notify Law Enforcement: Yes
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State Restrictions include:
Law enforcement office or facility; Detention or correctional facility; Courthouse or courtroom; Polling place on election days; Office of or the business meeting the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special purpose district; School or college athletic event not related to firearms; Daycare or preschool facility; Place where federal law prohibits the carrying of firearms; Church or other established religious sanctuary unless express permission is given by the appropriate church official or governing body; Medical services facilities unless expressly authorized by the employer. Place clearly marked with a sign prohibiting the carrying of a concealable weapon on the premises pursuant to Sections 23-31-220 and 23-31-235. Except that a property owner or an agent acting on his behalf, by express written consent, may allow individuals of his choosing to enter onto property regardless of any posted sign to the contrary. A person who violates a provision of this item, whether the violation is wilful or not, may only be charged with a violation of Section 16-11-620 and must not be charged with or penalized for a violation of this subsection. Except as provided for in item (11), a person who wilfully violates a provision of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not less than one thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than one year, or both, at the discretion of the court and have his permit revoked for five years.
Private Property Prohibitions: (A) Notwithstanding any other provision of this article, any requirement of or allowance for the posting of signs prohibiting the carrying of a concealable weapon upon any premises shall only be satisfied by a sign expressing the prohibition in both written language interdict and universal sign language. (B) All signs must be posted at each entrance into a building where a concealable weapon permit holder is prohibited from carrying a concealable weapon and must be: (1) clearly visible from outside the building; (2) eight inches wide by twelve inches tall in size; (3) contain the words “NO CONCEALABLE WEAPONS ALLOWED” in black one-inch tall uppercase type at the bottom of the sign and centered between the lateral edges of the sign; (4) contain a black silhouette of a handgun inside a circle seven inches in diameter with a diagonal line that runs from the lower left to the upper right at a forty-five degree angle from the horizontal; (5) a diameter of a circle; and (6) placed not less than forty inches and not more than sixty inches from the bottom of the building’s entrance door. (C) If the premises where concealable weapons are prohibited does not have doors, then the signs contained in subsection (A) must be: (1) thirty-six inches wide by forty-eight inches tall in size; (2) contain the words “NO CONCEALABLE WEAPONS ALLOWED” in black three- inch tall uppercase type at the bottom of the sign and centered between the lateral edges of the sign; (3) contain a black silhouette of a handgun inside a circle thirty-four inches in diameter with a diagonal line that is two inches wide and runs from the lower left to the upper right at a forty-five degree angle from the horizontal and must be a diameter of a circle whose circumference is two inches wide; (4) placed not less than forty inches and not more than ninety-six inches above the ground; (5) posted in sufficient quantities to be clearly visible from any point of entry onto the premises.
State Website: South Carolina
Current Reciprocity Map:
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.