- September 29, 2016 at 8:52 am #83957
May Issue VS Shall Issue: Shall issue to Residents and Non-Residents
Issuing Authority: Circuit Court
Required Training: Completion of any state certified training program that proves competency with a handgun.
How to Apply: You must contact the Circuit Court in your specific City or County that you reside in for application details.
Non-Residents: Non-Residents may apply in writing to the Virginia State Police for a 5 year permit.
Renewal: You must renew your permit every 5 years.
Processing Time: Up to 45 days.
Cost: Residents pay the Court $10 for processing the application. Local Law Enforcement may charge up to $35 for investigation costs as well as a $5 fee for processing the application. Non-Residents have to pay a $100 fee for their permit.
Change of Address: You are required to submit a change of address form to the state and that form can be found at: https://www.concealedcarryservices.org
Required to Notify Law Enforcement: No
Places Off Limits When Carrying:
Federal restrictions include all Federal Building, National monuments, National memorials, secure areas.
State Restrictions include:
Private property when prohibited by the owner of the property, or where posted as prohibited. Violation is a trespass charge and not a firearms violation. § 18.2-308 Carrying dangerous weapon to place of religious worship while a meeting for religious purposes is being held unless you have “good and sufficient reason.” There is no known definition of what a good and sufficient reason would be. Violation is a minor crime, punishable by a fine of up to $100. § 18.2-283 Note: See AG’s Opinion in AG Opinions/Court Cases Section Below) Courthouse. Violation is a high-level misdemeanor. § 18.2-283.1 School property/school functions (School busses are school property) unless gun is unloaded, in an enclosed container and in the vehicle. A car’s trunk is considered an enclosed container. However, a concealed handgun permit holder can have a loaded, concealed handgun in the vehicle while in the school parking lot, traffic circle, etc. The concealed handgun and the permit holder must stay in the vehicle. Firearms are not banned from property open to the public where a school function is being held unless that property is being used exclusively for the school function. Violation of this statute is a felony. § 18.2-308.1 http://www.handgunlaw.us 5 Non-secure areas of airport terminals are off limits unless you are a passenger and you have your gun unloaded, in a locked container in your checked luggage, and declare the gun at the check-in counter. Violation is a high-level misdemeanor. § 18.2-287.01 Regional Jail or Juvenile Detention Facility. § 15.2-915
Private Property Prohibitions: “No Firearm” signs in Virginia have no force of law unless they are posted on property that is specifically mentioned in State Law as being off limits to those with a Permit/License to Carry. If you are in a place not specifically mentioned in the law that is posted and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave then you are breaking the law and can be charged. Even if the property is not posted and you are asked to leave you must leave. Always be aware of the possibility that responding Police Officers who may have been called without your knowledge and may not know the laws on trespass etc. could arrest you even if you are within the law.
State Website: Virginia
Current Reciprocity Map:
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.